An open letter to the government about investing in communities

An open letter to the government about investing in communities

The government is attempting to persuade MPs to back its Brexit deal by dangling the prospect of cash for their constituencies – £1.6 billion spread over seven years. While it is true that parts of our country have been starved of resources for decades and desperately need investment, £200 million or so a year to support a deal that the government’s own analysis suggests could eventually cost the country £100 billion a year is not the way to do this.

What we need is large and sustained public investment in these communities on the basis of objective criteria rather than as part of a shabby backroom deal. CommonGround has advocated a Jumpstart Fund, worth many billions of pounds a year. If we stay in the EU, this will be much easier to afford.

[see below for a list of signatories]

This letter was signed by:

Lord Andrew Adonis – Member of the House of Lords, Labour Party
Rushanara Ali – MP, Bethnal Green and Bow, Labour Party
Anthony Barnett – Founder, openDemocracy
Lord Karan Bilimoria CBE – DL Chairman, Cobra Beer Partnership
Tom Brufatto – Chair, Britain for Europe
Kerry Buist – Director, Scotland for a People’s Vote
Professor Sir Harry Burns – Professor of Global Public Health, University of Strathclyde
Sir Vince Cable – Leader, Liberal Democrats
Ann Clwyd – MP, Cynon Valley, Labour Party
Dr John Coakley OBE – Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine (retired)
Mete Coban – Chief Executive, My Life My Say
Richard Corbett – MEP for Yorkshire & Humber and Labour Leader in the European Parliament
Stella Creasy – MP, Walthamstow, Labour and Co-operative Party
Caroline Criado Perez – Writer and Campaigner
Seb Dance – MEP for London, Labour Party
Dinesh Dhamija – Treasurer Liberal Democrats, Founder E-Bookers
Hugo Dixon – Co-founder CommonGround, Deputy Chair People’s Vote
John Edward – Former Head of the European Parliament Office Scotland
Rachel Franklin – Campaign director, Women for a People’s Vote
Paul Hilder – Co-founder, Crowdpac
Mary Honeyball – MEP, London, Labour Party
Will Hutton – Author and Economist
Christine Jardine – MP, Edinburgh West, Liberal Democrats
Anatole Kaletsky – Director, Best for Britain
Sajjad Karim – MEP, North West England, Conservative Party
Helena Kennedy QC – Barrister, broadcaster and author
Justin King – Former Chief Executive, Sainsbury’s
Jude Kirton-Darling – MEP, North East England, Labour Party
Peter Kyle – MP, Hove and Portslade, Labour Party
Sir Andrew Large – Former deputy Governor, Bank of England
Neal Lawson – Chair, Compass
Patrick Lohlein – National Organiser, Conservatives for a People’s Vote
Caroline Lucas – MP, Brighton Pavilion, Green Party
Pat McFadden – MP, Wolverhampton South East, Labour Party
Alison McGovern – MP, Wirral South, Labour Party
Dr Geeta Nargund – Founder and Medical Director, Create Fertlity, Senior NHS Consultant
Tris Reid-Smith – Editor-in-Chief Gay Star News
Sir Simon Robertson – Former Deputy Chairman, HSBC
Roland Rudd – Chairman, Finsbury
Liz Saville-Roberts – MP, Dwyfor Meirionnydd, Plaid Cymru
Molly Scott Cato – MEP, South West England and Gibraltar, Green Party
Geeta Sidhu-Robb – Founder and CEO Nosh Detox
Peter Tatchell – Human Rights Campaigner
Sandi Toksvig – Author, comedian, presenter, and co-founder of the Women’s Equality Party
Chuka Umunna – MP, Streatham, The Independent Group